Celebrity lifestyle – Perfect recipe to create perfectly disastrous marriage life

There is a time when people want to look for role model for their daily lifestyle, they will see their kings, religious leaders or philosophers. In their eyes, these people deserve to be followed since they believe in values which are good for society and actively serve society. As the result, people are inspired to be loving, righteous, and wise person. Overall, the result is very good for society.

Then fast forward to 21th century. When you go to any bookstore, the books that tell you how to become richer and more gorgeous will be on top list. Instead of using religious leaders or philosophers, people look to celebrities as their role models. People become more self-centered instead of community-centered.

In my previous post, I have focused on bankers and how they wrecked world economy. Compared to bankers, what celebrities do is apparently very innocent. One stole billions of dollars from investors whereas another just sing or act in front of camera.

If you assume that celebrities in current days are the same type as celebrities on 16th century like opera singers, pianists, violinists then you are right. However, unfortunately it is not the case. Before the invention of audio and video recorders and growth of entertainment industry, celebrities need to work harder to earn their audiences. Firstly, because their audiences are mostly middle and upper class people. Their audience can distinguish between good performance and bad performance. Secondly, they need to practice harder because their acts will be seen real-time!

In our times, there is a strong tendency that everyone that have a good look, dress vulgarly, have a weird lifestyle or provocative worldview can become celebrity. And the worst thing (thanks to the widespread mass media technology) is that they have millions of fans! Trend of celebrity lifestyle like narcissism, obsession with beauty, promiscuity, drug abuse and divorce are rampant. Just take a look at Tiger Wood, Amy Winehouse, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson and so on. It is a mystery why these celebrities somehow can become idol to so many people.

Celebrity narcissism is antithesis of marriage since marriage needs commitment. Still remember what the so called ‘outdated’ vow?

I take you to be my lawfully wedded(husband/wife), to have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, until death do us part.

It seems that is not a thing that can be done by narcissistic people that are always obsessed with fame and beauty. The more fans you have, the better you feel. So, hey, why should I restrict myself with one fans (my spouse) only? Just live a happy life without commitment!

There are thousands of better entertainment and role models than to watch and listen to these people. I don’t think I need to tell you.

About edwin2026

I am currently Indonesian expatriate working in Singapore, graduated from Nanyang Technological University with major in Computer Science in 2009. I am also working as software engineer, developing and maintaining systems for Singapore civil service. I write this blog to share to readers about my life principle on various aspects, like religion, politics, business, relationship, and technology. I am interested in alternative worldviews because I found that many things taught to us by establishments are not true and harmful. My dream is to become self-sufficient in food and energy. Hopefully, someday I can have my own fruit garden and my own power plant and able to sell my electricity to power company. I hope readers enjoy my blog.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

