Champions League Match 5 – Di Matteo sacked, Bayern is sub-par, Dortmund is superb

OK, so we have another round of Champions League match last night. As of this round, more top teams have qualified to knockoff round including Barcelona, Real Madrid, Valencia, Schalke, Dortmund, Bayern Munich, Manchester United, Arsenal, and AC Milan.

However, the most fierce and interesting competition is still exist in Group E where Shakhtar Donetsk, Ukrainian league champions has qualified to knockoff round with their 5-2 win over FC Nordsjaelland. That left only one place for either Chelsea or Juventus to qualify. Both are good team. Chelsea is last year’s champions (thanks to ridiculously extraordinary amount of luck) whereas Juventus made 49 matches unbeaten record in Serie A before 1-3 defeat by Inter Milan.

But, the bad news is on Chelsea’s side. They have not maintained consistent performance by missing two small cups (Charity Shield Cup and European Super Cup) by surrendered to Manchester City 3-2 and to Atletico Madrid 4-1, respectively. Although, they performed reasonably well in the Premier League until recently. Last night, they have been completely destroyed in Turin by three goals to zero. The day afterwards, Abramovich has decided to fire Di Matteo, made him seventh Chelsea manager who was fired after Jose Mourinho in 2007….

Meanwhile, my own team, Bayern Munich also ensured qualification by their draw against Valencia. Their performance was sub-par for their standards this season and I hope that they will improve in knock-off round. Gomez made his first appearance in around 2 months, I think.

Bayern’s rival, Dortmund has performed extraordinarily by topping their group of death, consisting of Spanish, Dutch, and English champions (Real Madrid, Ajax, and Man City). Gotze and Reus was brilliant and Lewandowski has found his best form once again.

My favorite for Champions League winner is still: Barcelona, Bayern and Dortmund. The videos below are highlights from last night’s and night before match:

Juventus vs Chelsea 3-0:

Ajax vs Dortmund 1-4:

Valencia vs Bayern 1-1:

About edwin2026

I am currently Indonesian expatriate working in Singapore, graduated from Nanyang Technological University with major in Computer Science in 2009. I am also working as software engineer, developing and maintaining systems for Singapore civil service. I write this blog to share to readers about my life principle on various aspects, like religion, politics, business, relationship, and technology. I am interested in alternative worldviews because I found that many things taught to us by establishments are not true and harmful. My dream is to become self-sufficient in food and energy. Hopefully, someday I can have my own fruit garden and my own power plant and able to sell my electricity to power company. I hope readers enjoy my blog.
This entry was posted in Sport and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

