My reading list plan for second half of 2013

To escape from work and life routine, I found it is always good to do self-learning outside my expertise area (computer engineering) to find out truth and adjust your life accordingly. Hence, I often wonder around bookstore in various section, from religion, politics, economy, language, environmental science, and agriculture.

Based on the synopsis, here are some books which I would like to read in second half of 2013:

1. Heaven Is Real But So Is Hell

Heaven is real but so is hell

Genre: Christianity, Religion, Mysticism

Synopsis: Greek woman with name of Vassula Ryden claimed to have communication with God and was told to deliver message through dictation over 17 years. She also received revelation about spiritual realms, including Heaven, Purgatory and Hell. She also met with Most High God, Virgin Mary, Lord Jesus, her guardian angel and also Prince of Darkness. Her spiritual message included keeping love in God by praying without ceasing, repentance and unity of church. Her message has been authenticated by many miracles including apparition of Christ and prophecies about world events including 9/11 tower collapse, 2004 Asian tsunami and 2010 Icelandic volcano eruption.

Personal comment: I previously have read NDE book Proof of Heaven which contains revelation of heaven, so I naturally would like to find its counterpart. It is also because I believe God is still working in our times and actively spreading His messages.

2. Trillion-Dollar Conspiracy

Trillion Dollar Conspiracy

Genre: Politics, Economy, Conspiracy

Synopsis: Unprecedented economic crisis in 2008 in United States has caused untold miseries to millions of people. However, very few even bother to think about the causes, let alone analyze to find the real culprits who caused this crisis. Author and conspiracy researcher Jim Marrs investigated and reported alliances of powerful people (corrupt politicians, central bankers and multinational corporations) who are conspiring to rule the world and make everybody else their slaves by instituting police state and eventually abolishing all nation states to establish one-world government.

Personal comment: I have previously heard about conspiracy theories, especially New World Order. However, I have not done comprehensive reading to find out detail about how these people operate and what can I do to avoid them.

3. 75 Green Businesses You Can Start to Make Money and Make A Difference

Green Business

Genre: Economy, Business, Environment

Synopsis: Discover 75 green startup ideas in multiple industries, including eco-tourism, small wind power, green schools, water conservation landscaping, green investment consulting and more. For each business, the author shows you the market, product to be delivered, resources needed, major hurdles ahead, competitors and strategies for success.

Personal comment: I always have plan to manage my own business. However, I do not want the ‘common’ business which only concerns about profit without actually make little or no difference to society. Hence, business to preserve nature, which is God-given duty to human race, seems quite attractive choice for me.

4. The Renewable Energy Handbook

renewable-energy-handbook

Genre: Energy, Technology, Engineering, Environment

Synopsis: The Renewable Energy Handbook focuses on the unique requirements of off-grid living as well as using “green” energy for homeowners who remain connected to the electrical utility. The book contains chapters on:

  • Energy efficiency and economics
  • Home heating and cooling and domestic water heating
  • Photovoltaic, wind, and micro-hydro energy generation
  • Battery selection and inverters
  • Backup power, wireless communications, etc.

Personal comments: Related to my plan to open green business, I find that this book could provide me with technical details on how to generate such energy. Since author also has personal experience in designing their own house powered by renewable energy, it could provide me with concrete example to be implemented later.

5. Complete Horse Care Manual

Horse Care Manual

Genre: Pet, Animal

Synopsis: Topics discussed in this book include basic care, daily routines, stabling, grooming, feeding, health, first aid, and types of tack and care. The chapters on horse disorders and diseases, accompanied by many helpful charts and illustrations, are especially useful. Since this is specifically a horse care manual, the book does not address riding techniques or the various horse breeds.

Personal comment: I am considering to keep a pet as a companion, preferably big one =D. However, I would like to see what things should be done if I decided to buy it. Hence, to read horse reference written by veterinary seem like good start for me.

That’s it! Hopefully, by the end of 2013 I would be able to finish reading and getting insight from those readings.

About edwin2026

I am currently Indonesian expatriate working in Singapore, graduated from Nanyang Technological University with major in Computer Science in 2009. I am also working as software engineer, developing and maintaining systems for Singapore civil service. I write this blog to share to readers about my life principle on various aspects, like religion, politics, business, relationship, and technology. I am interested in alternative worldviews because I found that many things taught to us by establishments are not true and harmful. My dream is to become self-sufficient in food and energy. Hopefully, someday I can have my own fruit garden and my own power plant and able to sell my electricity to power company. I hope readers enjoy my blog.
This entry was posted in Hobbies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

