Some thoughts about career change – Part 2

I am thankful to God for what I have experienced so far in my career. Slowly but sure, my job in current company has been almost 1.5 years now. Even though my family has a lot of financial difficulties, the grace of God enables me to cope with pressure and giving allowance to my three parents up until now.

However, I must admit I began to act like crazy for thinking and writing about this thing over and over again. Previously, I have written a post for my thought about career change. From that time, my subsidy for diploma has been cancelled and hence I cannot continue my study in alternative energy. And then, I was just informed that actually my mom spent around S$300 for medication permonth for her epilepsy. Adding into that, the skyrocketing medical cost made me worrying about her future health.

How does it related with career change? For sure, if you have to give continuous monthly allowance for S$1000 for three parents plus their medical bill, it will be forgettable to change career as it will require a lot of income adjustment. So now, I will probably prepare for possibility that for my whole lifetime I need to become software engineer.

However, I have some more thoughts to add for the common view that every people need to have so-called ‘vocational calling’ or ‘following one’s passion’ in order to be emotionally satisfied.

From my observation to my friends who have changed their career until now, I have noticed several trends. Firstly, most of them changed their job to the occupation which is generally perceived as more prestigious compared to their current job. It means more money, fame, and doing more important things to society. Some examples including priest, teacher, manager, banker, lawyer and so on. In other words, they seems expecting social advancement.

I have noticed this trend under my previous post about competition. Most people expect that there will be continous growth or progress to their life, whether it is captured in religious (vocational calling) or secular language (do whatever you like to do). And most people have roughly the same perception on fulfilling career. Blue-collar job (Farmer, shepherd, carpenter, plumber, bricklayer) is generally perceived as unimportant and replaceable. White-collar jobs (Doctor, teacher, lawyer, artist, architect, engineer) is better and more prestigious but also tedious after awhile. Those jobs who have authority over many people will be ultimate goal (priest, king, judge, ministers and managers).

Like I said previously, that kind of mindset (that there has to be continuous progress in our life) is the source of unhappiness. For each of us was born with limited time, resources, wisdom and abilities and some of us are better than others. And additionally, there could be only one leader at one time in one organization. Our chance of becoming one of them is extremely slow if you belong to the bottom of the pyramid. We continue to put effort but most of the effort was spent in vain.

This mindset will also unconsciously make us show disdain for poors of the society (blue-collar workers) and lead us to sin of pride. There will also time when your resentment continue grow slowly. You have not been promoted for several years onward although you have put your best effort. In the end, you will spent your days on earth in daily misery despite all your wealth and status. All of these happened because you do not have gratitude in your heart for what you have obtained.

Instead of doing so, I think we should spend more time in solemn spiritual activities like prayer and reflection. It will calm our heart instead of continously harboring unending selfish ambition disguised in nice language (higher calling, contributing to large society, following passion, etc).

About edwin2026

I am currently Indonesian expatriate working in Singapore, graduated from Nanyang Technological University with major in Computer Science in 2009. I am also working as software engineer, developing and maintaining systems for Singapore civil service. I write this blog to share to readers about my life principle on various aspects, like religion, politics, business, relationship, and technology. I am interested in alternative worldviews because I found that many things taught to us by establishments are not true and harmful. My dream is to become self-sufficient in food and energy. Hopefully, someday I can have my own fruit garden and my own power plant and able to sell my electricity to power company. I hope readers enjoy my blog.
This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

