The reflection of life when you are 30

I seriously used to think that I will never touch this blog anymore. I have experienced quite a lot of turbulence in this 1-2 year of my career. My company did not get any major project and as the result, it discontinued many of its staffs’ contract and cancel staff recruitment. I also received around 50% paycut and I heard stories many of my friends who were retrenched because of bad economic condition, particularly those people worked in oil and gas industry.

Nevertheless, I am grateful to God that I am still able to sustain myself and provide allowance to my parents. It is not easy to know that the world is on the verge on global financial collapse and be able to keep your coolness. After initially opted for polytechnic course, I submitted my application for NUS master degree and get accepted. I also think that it is a good opportunity to enhance my rusty skillsets because I felt that I hardly learn any new concept in the last 1-2 year of my job. The job is notoriously demanding not because of conceptually difficult but because they are damn a lot.

You can say that I got partial scholarship on this master because our company gave me 3.5 months of bonus and it covers around 80-90% of the school fee. And it is a good thing, since I am about to get married next year. So far, I enjoyed the course. Relearning old stuffs and new languages and tools (like C++, Python, PHP, Android, LLVM). and security-related concepts (XSS, CSRF, SQL injection, buffer overflow, return-oriented programming, etc).

Moving forward, I plan to share more about what I am doing instead of my philosophy on various things. This is because I think that people is not only defined by their thought and belief but also their action. Here are the things I am expecting to happen within 3 years:

1 – Finishing my NUS master degree in Infocomm Security

So far, I have taken 3 subjects (Web security, software security and system security) and planning to focus more on courses related to network, for example: network security, wireless computing, cloud computing, internet architecture, advanced computer network, distributed system, and so on. I chose this option because of conviction that near future there will be great possibility of warfare between great powers and those that possess skillsets to protect public infrastructure from cyberattack will be greatly in demand.

2 – Getting married mid of next year

By grace of God, I have found my future wife after struggling around 2-3 years for futile use of online dating sites. Basically, I think that both of us come from similar family background and can understand limitation and strength of each others and willing to corporate to overcome the challenges. She can accept that we need to build our relationship temporarily by LDR and her parents also do not have much financial demand. Next month, I will go through first pre-marital counseling session inside my church

3 – Setting up agricultural business as side income

It is just the matter of time before virtually all pension fund in all countries declared bankrupt. After securing enough saving in precious metal, it is the time to build my portfolio to generate income. However, I intend to avoid stock market, as it is highly manipulated by central bank which can print infinite money and corporations use this money, borrowed with ultra-low interest rate, to buyback their stock. Planning to buy a piece of land using money I got from working in Singapore to do this. It is also more sustainable as I would not expect my career in security industry to last for more than 10-15 years.

Hopefully, I can get my goals achieved, by strength and grace given by God. Me with my family can survive the end of world order.

About edwin2026

I am currently Indonesian expatriate working in Singapore, graduated from Nanyang Technological University with major in Computer Science in 2009. I am also working as software engineer, developing and maintaining systems for Singapore civil service. I write this blog to share to readers about my life principle on various aspects, like religion, politics, business, relationship, and technology. I am interested in alternative worldviews because I found that many things taught to us by establishments are not true and harmful. My dream is to become self-sufficient in food and energy. Hopefully, someday I can have my own fruit garden and my own power plant and able to sell my electricity to power company. I hope readers enjoy my blog.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

