Another Life Update

So a lot of things happened just after 2 months. I was told by my manager that he planned to discontinue all government projects from our company by mid-2017 and we will work on his new venture in fintech (quantitative trading). Essentially, making portfolio decision for investors by leveraging computing technology combined by historical valuation data.

I just went through proposal ceremony one day after Chinese New Year with my girlfriend in Jakarta and other than a bit of unexpected need for some cash, the event proceed really well. It has a feeling like mini wedding, because it was attended by the extended family from both sides (roughly around 40-50 people). My girlfriend’s family introduced themselves to us and vice versa. They prepared the food and we have a lunch there. We brought some parcels to her house, and some jewellery. I put the necklace on her neck and we have a talk about our wedding plan and living arrangement.

Meanwhile, I have decided to take research option for my Masters degree in NUS. It means that I need to accomplish the dissertation in 2 semesters. There are options to do this either in external organizations (such as DSO, DSTA, I2R, Huawei, Acronis, etc) or with NUS internal professors. Hence, I applied for honeypot project for ADSC (it’s currently one branch of ASTAR). The interview went quite smooth. I like the environment and the colleagues. And most surprisingly, we are paid for our project (although NUS course coordinator said to me previously that no allowance involved for our Infocomm project).

So right now, I am in uncharted territory where I need to juggle between two jobs and taking two courses at the same time. Granted, the job in Hiend does not require me to continuously stationed in the office but it does not mean that it is walk in the park. If everything run well, I plan to move to ADSC although it means that I need to re-learn most of the things (languages, platforms, domain knowledge).

In the end of the March, I plan to arrange appointment with dermatologist to remove birthsign below my right eye. It is just nicer thing to do as my wedding day coming near.

And thank God so far because of allowance I got from ADSC, I will be still able to fund NUS school fee for next semester (My wedding cost more than what I expected).

Right now, the future milestone will be to finish my dissertation with ADSC and get the full-time job there. Hopefully, my wife is able to get a job here too.

 

About edwin2026

I am currently Indonesian expatriate working in Singapore, graduated from Nanyang Technological University with major in Computer Science in 2009. I am also working as software engineer, developing and maintaining systems for Singapore civil service. I write this blog to share to readers about my life principle on various aspects, like religion, politics, business, relationship, and technology. I am interested in alternative worldviews because I found that many things taught to us by establishments are not true and harmful. My dream is to become self-sufficient in food and energy. Hopefully, someday I can have my own fruit garden and my own power plant and able to sell my electricity to power company. I hope readers enjoy my blog.
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

