H1 2017 life update (Part 2)

So, after all those activities, I still need to prepare my wedding on the end of this July. I flied from Singapore to Jakarta from 03 to 11 June 2017. I need to submit all necessary documents for civil registration. I and my fiancee went to our food vendor for food tasting together with my extended family.

And then we went to Ancol beach to do our prewedding photo taking. My fiancee was stuck in traffic jam and we started a bit late (around 11am) but after awhile everything was working fine. I am quite satisfied with the result but admittedly during night time the noises are quite visible in the photos. On the weekend, we visited my fiancee’s home to take picture with her dogs.

On Sunday, we have our last premarital counseling session with my senior pastor. And then, we went to my mom’s goldsmith acquaintance to collect our wedding ring. Unfortunately, the size still did not fit me and hence they need to enlarge the ring but I flied to Singapore that night on the same day.

During my leisure time, I also tried to apply to some job openings from Jobstreet as previously I have submitted my resignation from Hiend and my last day will be on 26 July.

I decided to quit because I feel that currently there is an oversupply of software engineer, business analyst and project manager in IT industry. All of my NTU friends from Computer Science and Engineering (around 20-25 people), around 80-90% of them are software engineers (although later some become business analyst, project manager and leaving IT industry all together).

So I tried to find non-software engineer job related to my specialization (like security analyst, consultant or researcher) but all of them have formidable requirements. I have applied to 7-8 job openings but no response after 1-2 weeks. There is also no confirmation from ADSC about their future funding or if I will be converted to their full-time staff after my internship.

Then, I begin to worry about possibility of financial issue after marriage after I declared my resignation. I am still currently studying part-time and my wife may also not finding appropriate job instantly when she moved to Singapore. But remembering almost sleepless nights during peak period last semester, I decided not to experience another two part-time jobs and two master modules. For me, being able to work for 8 years in Singapore is good enough already. More than that is surplus. I just leave this matter to God as it is already beyond my control.

Then, there is a job opening posted in NUS email. A professor who specialized in software security is looking for research engineer to do automated debugger for mobile apps security. Initially, I ignored that job advertisement for a week. But after no update from ADSC, I decided to try applying. Surprisingly, the prof responded almost instantly (within 2-3 hours). Within 2 days, I met with the professor and he interrogated me about my past projects and after that he explained several projects that he is currently doing. He asked me about my career aspiration to match me with available project.

In the second meeting with a PhD student and a research fellow from professor’s team, I expressed my wish to work on project related to malware detection and analysis. The professor said he may get the funding for such project in second year and he will work with industry partner (Kaspersky Lab, to be exact). If such thing happened, it will be good progress for my career.

Unfortunately, it is just two years contract (Although I think it is fine, since I considered this as entry level job in security domain…). Furthermore, with given salary, I am still able to feed my family, my fiancee and her mom. Given that, I am still grateful. Apparently, my career here has not ended yet. Hopefully, I can survive another semester. End of update for H1 2017.

About edwin2026

I am currently Indonesian expatriate working in Singapore, graduated from Nanyang Technological University with major in Computer Science in 2009. I am also working as software engineer, developing and maintaining systems for Singapore civil service. I write this blog to share to readers about my life principle on various aspects, like religion, politics, business, relationship, and technology. I am interested in alternative worldviews because I found that many things taught to us by establishments are not true and harmful. My dream is to become self-sufficient in food and energy. Hopefully, someday I can have my own fruit garden and my own power plant and able to sell my electricity to power company. I hope readers enjoy my blog.
This entry was posted in Marriage, Personal, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

